Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spalding University Library Logo

ASOT OTD Program Student Handbook

The Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy (ASOT), Occupational Therapy Doctoral (OTD) Program Student Handbook is the policy and procedure resource specific to this program. This handbook aligns with the Spalding University Student Handbook and Catalog.

Overview

Students accepted into the ASOT OTD program are expected to demonstrate the same academic and professional zeal they demonstrate upon admission. ASOT OTD students are expected to engage in this program according to the academic and professional behaviors defined in this section. Meeting or exceeding these expectations will transform each student into his or her own kind of leader within this profession and the health care industry. Faculty support and encourage all students to maintain the highest academic and professional standards to best represent themselves, ASOT, Spalding University, and the profession of occupational therapy.

OTD students and ASOT faculty will perform scheduled and "as needed" assessments of professionalism components, which are infused with details in this section, at key times throughout the curriculum to ensure the student is developing as an OTD student, as well as an ethical  and safe health care professional.

Academic Behavior Standards

The ASOT OTD program strictly follows the Spalding University Student Handbook and Catalog for Graduate Programs, which includes descriptions and definitions of student expectations. As a doctoral-level, professional degree program, ASOT upholds high scholastic standards that will help advance each student through this program to his or her highest potential. These standards include the following items:

  • The student is responsible for monitoring his/her academic standing throughout the program (course grades, GPA, registration, financial obligations, etc.)

  • The student submits assignments according to due dates per syllabi or faculty communications.

  • The student references the works of others according to faculty instruction.

  • The student demonstrates professional writing competency according to APA guidelines (see attached document for Spalding University's Writer's Toolkit).

  • The student is responsible for obtaining any course material he/she may have missed due to missing class or other learning experiences.

  • The student will complete all course evaluations according to the prompts sent by Spalding University.

  • The student will procure all required academic resources, to include but not limited to textbooks, articles, videos, subscriptions, and memberships, according to faculty or program instruction.

  • *The student upholds academic integrity, which means he/she is honest, does not cheat, does not plagiarize, and does not share his/her work with others, unless otherwise specified by faculty. Infraction with this item automatically will result in a Notification of Concern. See Due Process within Professionalism section of ASOT OTD Student Handbook.

Professional Behavior Standards

The following six essential behaviors integrate items from the Code of Ethics, Spalding University’s Student Handbook and Catalog, Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice, and this Statement of Professionalism with a focus on the academic environment (DeIuliis, 2017). This section contains direct, original concepts authored by DeIuliis (2017; p. 157).

  • Integrity: Represents one’s own and others’ abilities honestly; is truthful and sincere; accepts responsibility for one’s actions; able to reflect on one’s personal reactions to encounters with others.

  • Respect: Adheres to confidentiality and professional boundaries; works toward conflict resolution in collegial ways; demonstrates consideration for the opinions and values of others; shows regard for diversity.

  • Responsibility: Present and punctual for all learning experiences; able to cope with challenges, conflicts, and uncertainty; recognize one’s limits and seeks help; recognizes the needs of others and responds appropriately; demonstrates willingness to discuss and confront problematic behavior of self and others.

  • Competence: Takes responsibility for one’s own learning; participates equally and collegially in groups; demonstrates self-reflection and accurate self-assessment; able to identify personal barriers to learning; works with faculty to manage learning difficulties.

  • Maturity: Demonstrates emotional stability; appropriately confident, yet humble; demonstrates appropriate professional dress, demeanor, and language; accepts constructive feedback and applies it in useful ways; inspires confidence in others; displays appropriate emotions; is not hostile, disruptive, confrontational, aggressive, or isolated; does not engage in behavior that endangers or threatens self or others.

  • Communication: Able to communicate effectively with others; demonstrates courteous and respectful communication, even in difficult situations; uses active listening; communicates with empathy and compassion.