Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spalding University Library Logo

ASOT OTD Program Student Handbook

The Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy (ASOT), Occupational Therapy Doctoral (OTD) Program Student Handbook is the policy and procedure resource specific to this program. This handbook aligns with the Spalding University Student Handbook and Catalog.

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)

The educational records of students are protected by the provisions of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). Annually, Spalding University informs students of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, with which Spalding is in full compliance. This Act was designed to protect the privacy of educational records, to establish the right of students to inspect and review their educational records, and to provide guidelines for the correction of inaccurate or misleading data through informal and formal hearings. The policy and procedures used by Spalding University for compliance with the provisions of the Act are explained in detail in the University Catalog. A copy of this manual may be examined in the Office of the Registrar, where any questions concerning the Act should also be referred. This statement and more University information about FERPA may be found in the Spalding University Student Handbook.

The ASOT OTD program fully complies with FERPA for all students applying for admission, enrolled in this program, or graduated from this University. Any and all ASOT student-related information is confidential and carefully managed for on- and off-campus learning experiences. To protect and uphold each OTD student's rights under FERPA, ASOT does not release student information to members of students' families, financial sources, and/or other identified parties. Students' concerns related to their status in the program, grades, or other personal information and/or issues are addressed individually with the student and the involved faculty/staff, while under the overarching supervision, guidance, counsel, or direction of the ASOT OTD Chair.

For more detailed information about FERPA, please visit the US Department of Education web page by clicking the link below.

Electronic Media Policy

ASOT Electronic Media Policy

The Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy (ASOT) at Spalding University supports the use of current technologies to advance classroom and fieldwork education.  The use of technology is supported in two of ASOT’s curricular threads: meeting the occupational needs of society and facilitation of critical thinking and occupation-based reasoning.  When used appropriately, electronic media and on-line professional networking are powerful professional tools for enhancing educational experiences through research and transmission of information. 
Due to the ease of access and fluidity of use of these tools, electronic media and on-line networking both possess inherent risks that may jeopardize and violate professional confidentiality and relationships.  By being careful and conscientious, ASOT students may enjoy the personal and professional benefits of electronic media and on-line networking services without violating privacy, confidentiality, and integrity of their clients, their fieldwork agencies, this program, and themselves. 
Supporting the American Occupational Therapy Association Code of Ethics and the Professionalism Statement of ASOT, upholding the following Electronic Media and Social Networking Policy for all students within the MSOT program is the standard.  Students who elect to act in ways deemed noncompliant with this policy assume the risk of how it may jeopardize their status in the OTD program.
  1. Students will strictly follow ASOT cell phone (and other communication devices) policy during class and while at fieldwork unless specifically permitted by the individual ASOT faculty and/or the fieldwork agency. This includes the following:
    • No personal phone calls, text messages, emails, etc. are made or received while in class or at fieldwork.
    • Communications due to emergencies are made/received in separate locations from class or from clinical areas while at fieldwork.
  2. Students will use their assigned Spalding University email accounts for any education-related on-line communications with ASOT faculty/staff, fieldwork educators, and other professional entities as it pertains to involvement in the program.
  3. Students will not publish comments, pictures, videos, or any related information about any of the following information on on-line social or professional networking sites:
    • Fieldwork educators
    • Fieldwork agencies
    • Clients served at their fieldwork agencies
      • Disclosing information about clients is strictly prohibited.
      • Students will maintain the confidentiality and security of any confidential information to which they are exposed.  Students must further refrain from posting confidential information about the University, its students, faculty, or alumni.
      • Students will adhere to and abide by all applicable state, federal, and University laws and rules, regulations and policies, including, but not limited to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (“HIPAA”) and regulations promulgated thereunder, as well as the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act, Title XII of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (“HITECH”).
  4. If students have previously published any information that is prohibited as outlined above, students must immediately remove the posted information.
    • If students are unsure about whether publishing certain material runs afoul of the Policy, students are encouraged to contact their faculty advisor, the Academic Fieldwork Director, of fieldwork supervisor regarding the questionable information prior to making the post.  
  5. To maintain professional boundaries, students will not request on-line acquaintance (“friend”) with faculty, fieldwork educators, or university staff while participating in fieldwork or considered and ASOT student.  The Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy does have a Facebook page that students can request to “friend” if desired.
  6. Students will not request or accept a “friend” request from any clients while participating in fieldwork.
  7. Students must ensure the accuracy of their information before they publish it.
  8. Students are encouraged to think before they post.  Any material that is posted is highly likely to be permanently connected to the student and to the reputation of the student through internet and email archives.  Future employers often are able to access this information and may use it to evaluate the student.  Additionally, students are legally liable for what they post on their own site and on the sites of others.  Individual bloggers have been held liable for commentary deemed to be proprietary, copyrighted, libelous, defamatory or obscene (as defined by the courts).  Students must be sure that what is posted today will not produce undesired outcomes (“come back to haunt” them). ASOT will have zero tolerance for violation of our Electronic Media and Social Networking Policy.  Any violation is considered unprofessional.  Failure to adhere to this Policy will result in disciplinary action, up to and including dismissal from the program and/or university.
  9. These guidelines are dynamic in nature and are subject to change as new social networking tools emerge. 

This policy is in alignment Spalding University's Student Handbook.

Equipment Loan Policy

This document outlines check out and check in procedures, policies regarding ASOT equipment, supplies and assessments.

LOCATION OF EQUIPMENT & ASSESSMENTS

The equipment and supplies are located in designated ASOT lab space KCC 112, 120 and 208.

ASOT HOURS OF OPERATION: Monday thru Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Every attempt will be made to keep all posted hours, and any changes will be announced through email.

CLOSURE POLICY

We will do everything in our power to notify students of any closure as soon as possible. However, if the University closes unexpectedly you will be notified via e-mail. If ASOT is closed for a full day on the day that your loaned equipment kits are due, those kits will be due on the following business day. If the TKC is closed for a full week, your kit will be checked out initially for two weeks, instead of the usual one week.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy (502) 588-7176 or asot@spalding.edu

Program Chair: Dr. Cindee Quake-Rapp cquakerapp@spalding.edu  

To reach the Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy, email us at asot@spalding.edu. During office hours, we can be reached via phone at (502) 588-7196. In-person questions should be directed to staff during posted business hours.

Ethics Code

Students have a responsibility to follow the code of ethics distributed by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE). Ignorance of this code of ethics is not an excusable reason to violate the code. This information is set up in a way to minimize any confusion surrounding the use of equipment, assessments, and supplies.

We would like to reiterate the importance of security and client confidentiality.

  • Do not leave equipment, assessments or supplies unattended and unsecured (ex: do not checkwith your luggage when traveling)

  • Do not equipment, assessments or supplies in a public setting, always secure a private area

  • Do not leave personal items in equipment, assessments or supplies when returning them

  • Do not throw away damaged equipment, assessments or supplies must for

AVAILABILITY OF EQUIPMENT ASSESSMENTS & SUPPLIES

The items are here for ASOT students and faculty use.  However, there will be certain items that will be checked out the majority of each semester. Our inventory fluctuates, and this can result in an item not being available. Please don’t forget to ask your course instructor if your fieldwork sites have the items you are looking for before asking to check an item out.

CIRCULATION GUIDELINES

Students may check out equipment, assessments or supplies for up to 7 days.

All students must check items out with the course instructor of record.

Students may have a total of 10 items checked out at one time.

During regular office hours, equipment, assessments or supplies should be returned directly to KCCHNS room 104. Make every attempt to return items to ASOT during regular office hours.

Upon return, all materials will be checked for completeness before being made available for anyone else to check-out. In this way, missing or damaged items may be tracked to the last person who used the item, and that person will be financially responsible for any missing or damaged pieces. Likewise, for some items, you will be asked to sign the item out by witnessing each piece being accounted for during check-out. This is to ensure that items are complete before you take responsibility for it.  Items will not be checked-in if pieces are missing or damaged, and students will be charged late fees until the missing or damaged pieces are returned or replaced.

There is a $10 fine per item, per day for each day past the due date.

When a student accrues a fine, an ASOT staff member will provide the student with a bill once per semester.  The bill must be paid by credit card in the ASOT office KCCHNS room 104.

The ASOT staff cannot reduce or excuse fines. If you believe that you are incorrectly assessed for a fine, then e-mail Dr. Quake-Rapp at cquakerapp@spalding.edu

GENERAL INFORMATION

Protect your clients’ privacy. Client information must be transported in a locked container.  Do not put protected information in unattended areas, and check items before turning them into KCCHNS 104.

Do not enter your clients’ real name in computer databases, and be sure that you have all of your items and materials when you leave the client.

Do not share equipment, assessments or supplies with people outside the program. To do otherwise is a violation of the guidelines within the ASOT student handbook. It is your responsibility to be compliant.

Keep all equipment, assessments or supplies locked up. If an item is stolen, the student is responsible for replacing it. Prices vary, with some items are very expensive. If you check an item out, it is your responsibility. If you lend it to another student and the student loses or damages it, you are responsible for replacement costs. Some items will warp when left in a hot car. If they are damaged, you will be charged the replacement cost.