Dear Occupational Therapy Doctoral (OTD) student of the Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy (ASOT) at Spalding University:
On behalf of the ASOT faculty, I would like to welcome you to this professional, entry-level OTD program. We are pleased that you have chosen occupational therapy as a career and Spalding University as your academic institution. We want to assure you of our interest and support as you begin this program of study. We are committed to your academic pursuits, but more importantly, we are concerned about you as a unique person with individual experiences, perceptions, value systems, and goals. To this end, it is important for all of us--faculty, staff, and students--to work collaboratively in the educational process and in creating a shared learning community.
This handbook is a resource to use in conjunction with the official Spalding University Catalog and Graduate Studies Policies, Spalding University Student Handbook, and the ASOT OTD Capstone Handbook. The purpose of the handbook for this OTD program is to make you aware of the policies and procedures necessary for your admission to, retention in, and successful completion of the ASOT OTD program. The information within this handbook is subject to periodic change, and all students are responsible for checking this resource for information and direction as needed.
Again, I welcome you into the ASOT OTD program at Spalding University. I also want to thank you for becoming not only a member of ASOT's incoming class but also a future colleague.
My very best wishes to you,
Sara Story, EdD, OTD, OTR/L, BCG, CAPS
Chair, Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy
This Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy (ASOT) OTD student handbook provides necessary information regarding policies and procedures adopted by ASOT for entry-level, OTD students enrolled in this professional program. The ASOT student handbook is used as a reference throughout the program of study until graduation. Students are responsible for knowing and accessing the information contained in this handbook.
The student handbook’s purpose is to serve as a resource for both students and faculty. The handbook may be subject to change, determined by circumstances that occur throughout the academic year. Students will be notified of any changes as they occur and are responsible for complying with any revised policies or standards.
Students are responsible for maintaining access to this handbook. All students have access to the Spalding University Student Handbook and the Spalding University Catalog for Graduate Studies through the my.spalding.edu portal, which includes additional resources for student expectations and performance standards. The Spalding University Catalog is the official document for all academic policies. The policies within the ASOT OTD student handbook serve as additional requirements/policies/procedures for ASOT OTD students.
This student handbook is the property of the Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy, Spalding University, Louisville, KY. No part of this handbook may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, transmitted in any form or by any means (mechanical, electronic, photocopying, recording or otherwise) without written permission from the Chair of the Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy.
Each student within the OTD program is responsible for the information contained in this handbook. After reading and becoming familiar with its contents, please open, print, and fill out the attached document. After submitting this completed document according to the ASOT OTD student onboarding instructions, this form will be saved in each student's individual files as tangible evidence of their understanding of the purpose and contents of the ASOT OTD Program Student Handbook.
All information found within this site is property of the Auerbach School of Occupational Therapy Occupational Therapy Doctoral Program at Spalding University in Louisville, KY and may be borrowed or edited with credit given to this program. Please report any malfunctions related to the information or links found on this page to firstname.lastname@example.org.