Spalding University Library: MKT 342: Marketing Research: Background Information

Recommended Databases

Reports & Statistics

Business Insights This link opens in a new window This first-of-its kind online resource was designed specifically to address the needs of a new global business generation. Gale Business Insights: Global provides students and researchers with the broad yet detailed coverage of international business they need to develop into savvy professionals that can compete and succeed working across the countries and cultures of the world. Gale Business Insights: Global is the most convenient and comprehensive way to access timely case studies, full-text articles, and robust data sets coupled with authoritative references and tools for analysis. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research. Deep business intelligence powered by statistical data lets researchers spend less time searching and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications.
Statista This link opens in a new window This data aggregation and research platform contains statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.

Business Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news, the public library patron making personal investment decisions, or the high school student looking to major in business administration, Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art InfoTrac platform.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business research database features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This robust database provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Whether searching for information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, or political participation, Regional Business News will cover the story.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Access to Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) gives business owners expertise on call 24 hours a day. Created by subject experts and a librarian advisory board, it covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window Small Business Reference Center offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.

Company Reports

You can usually find company information and annual reports published for investors on the corporation's sites.
On a company's site, look the fine print links on the bottom of the page or sitemap for links to:

Annual Report
Corporate
History
Investor Relations
Suppliers

For example, this 2016 Annual Report for Target can be found on their investors page, as well as their 10k SEC filings.

When looking at company information, consider their bias and how a company may want to present themselves to the public and investors.

An SEC filing is a financial statement or other formal document submitted to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Public companies, certain insiders, and broker-dealers are required to make regular SEC filings and are publicly available.

EDGAR, is the SEC public search interface. You can search for companies by title or file number, and limit by state, country, or standard industry classification codes.

Government Resources

EDGAR
U.S. Security and Exchange Commission database for searching public SEC filings.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by the Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and soundness and consumer protection, and managing receiverships.
Small Business USA
A centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier than ever for small businesses to access services to help them grow and hire.
U.S. Census Bureau Economic Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau Retail Trade

More Government Information

Industry Statistics

Financial Services Industry

Industry Trade Associations

United Nations Industry Statistics

Monthly bulletin of statistics online (UN)