Spalding University Library: NURS-692: Evidence Based Practice 1: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

Library Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL Complete is compatible with EBSCO’s point-of-care resources including Nursing Reference Center (NRC) and others.
Dissertations & Theses @ Spalding University This link opens in a new window This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students and faculty from Spalding University from 2001-present.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Health and Wellness, Gale's comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 22 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window With full-text access to nearly 100 journals, Nursing & Allied Health Collection, is an asset to medical researchers, medical assistants and nursing students.
Nursing Reference Center This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is the premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource, trusted worldwide by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care.
UpToDate Advanced Table of Contents -https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SHyauowtPnuwHHWLEtWbCEYDAunB5lcs/view?usp=sharing

UpToDate Advanced Quick Reference Card- https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lMw3dtk3CYBHbs3pkZ0r_CrNj1IF-rSN/view?usp=sharing

Open Source Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
BioMed Central Database contains over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine. Also searchable via PubMed.
BioOne Complete BioOne Complete is BioOne's database of 207 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Instruments & Tests

Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window Comprehensive bibliographic database abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window Database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS® database is an extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.

Statistics

Kentucky Data Center The Kentucky State Data Center (KSDC) is the state’s lead agency in the U.S. Census Bureau’s State Data Center Program and Kentucky’s official clearinghouse for Census data. The State Data Center program was initiated by the U.S. Census Bureau in 1978 in order to facilitate the dissemination of Census data to data users across the state and to provide a vehicle for user feedback to the Census Bureau. The Kentucky State Data Center is housed in the Department of Urban and Public Affairs in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Louisville.
MedlinePlus Health Statistics MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
National Center for Health Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window This data aggregation and research platform contains statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.