Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Gateways and Search Engines
- Congressional Record
Official records of proceedings and debates of Congress from 1994 to the present. Users can search by date, page number, or topic.
- Congressional Globe
Contains the congressional debates of the 23rd through 42nd Congresses (1833-1873).
The Serial Set
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Inventory
Aims to be a complete inventory of serial set holdings in U.S. libraries, from volume 1 through volume 13219-3. Search and browse the inventories by serial set volume, by library, or by session of Congress.
Includes information on upcoming measures, the current legislative day, a quick search of the text of bills, bill summary and status, and many other items.
- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Covers historical and current members of congress. Search by name, position, state, party, and year or congress. Alternative text access.
- Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
From the Library of Congress' American Memory Project, U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875.
- Code of Federal Regulations
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.
- Congressional Directory
The official directory of the U.S. Congress.
- Congressional Publications
Formerly known as Congressional Search. Full-text documents of congressional publications, including hearings, reports, prints, and documents.
- Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
- Congressional Research Service Reports Archive
Because the Congressional Research Service does not publish its reports online, FAS obtains reports addressing national security, foreign policy and related topics, digitizes them, and archives them. It also links to other sources for CRS reports.
- Current House Floor Proceedings
View a self-reloading image of what lawmakers are working on, updated every 20 seconds. Can link directly to the Whip's official homepage and view a full-text report of the current proceedings. Includes three day summaries and a custom search engine to instantly locate the status and/or full text of any given bill.
- Executive Branch Resources
- Federal Election Commission
Includes information about financing campaigns for President, the U.S. Senate, and the House of Representatives with contribution limits and how citizens can participate in federal elections.
- Federal Register
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- History of Bills
Lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record.
- House of Representatives
- Legislative Branch Resources
A collection of links to legislative information resources available through the GPO. Includes Congressional publications, House and Senate publications and committees, and legislative publications and resources.
- Office of the Clerk, United States House of Representatives
Contains House of Representatives information, including copies of bills and other House documents, the Clerk's publications, and historical information about the House.
With permission from: Anita Etheridge, Tennessee State University