Consider whether streaming media in your course is fair use. These tools can help with a fair use analysis. Please note they do not provide legal advice:
We encourage you to follow these practices, which will strengthen your stance under both Fair Use:
Law: Fair use (17 USC § 107) is a flexible doctrine of law that allows us to use copyright protected works for certain purposes.
The Digital Millennium Copyright Act, or DMCA, (17 USC § 1201) is a highly technical law that prohibits circumventing technological protection measures of copyright-protected works---even if a user wishes to use the work legally. Every three years the US Copyright Office creates exceptions to this restriction. Current exceptions were enacted in 2015 and will expire in 2018. They are explained in this blog and chart from Ohio State University.
Copyright law is complex. Stream unlicensed video for your class as a last resort.
Permission to use by the University of Washington Libraries
The Spalding University Library supports the curricular streaming needs of the university. However, the high cost of streaming videos combined with budget constraints requires some limits on what the Library is able to provide. The policy for acquiring streaming rights may be adjusted from year to year based on funding. We ask that you use the Library's existing collections before requesting new titles to add to our collection. We also provide a brief explanation of relevant copyright principles. This explanation should not be interpreted as legal advice. Instructors should decide which option is most appropriate based on their pedagogical needs.
There are streaming options available to assist with your instructional needs. Each option below includes a description and a brief explanation of relevant copyright principles. Instructors should decide which option is most appropriate based on their pedagogical needs.
Service: Consider the film databases the Library already provides. This not only helps your class, it helps in the library justify expenditure for the streaming media. We recommend that you check these collections first to see if there are films that will work for your class. See the Library webpage Databases A- Z and All Database Types dropdown menu for Films and Videos for help finding these items.
Copyright: The Library has license agreements with the database providers to make these films available in streaming format for Spalding faculty, staff, and students.
Help: Feel free to contact your librarian for help identifying films for your class. Faculty, see instructions to Adding Streaming Media Permalink URLs.
2. Use public library streaming videos
Service: Louisville Free Public Library card holders can access streaming video collections. All Spalding students, staff, and faculty are eligible to get LFPL library cards. You will need to contact the LFPL reference desk to set up your card for off-site access to public library collections.
Documentaries, films in the public domain, and short films may be available through free online collections like the Internet Archive (see Open Access Streaming Video).
Copyright: Each provider will have a different license agreement. We encourage you to read the terms of each license.
3. Host streaming video content yourself
Service: Canvas allows you to embed multiple video files to your course site.
Copyright: You may consider doing a fair use evaluation and decide to host video content essential for your class. See the University of Washington Libraries' Step-by-Step Guide to Copyright Compliance.
Help: See these instructions for how to upload a video into Canvas. Questions? Contact Canvas Help 502.632.3957.
Ask the content creator or copyright holder for permission to stream the video for use in your course. Abide by terms of the permission to use.
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative effort to establish a repository of ethnographic video recordings and an infrastructure of tools and systems supporting scholars in the ethnographic disciplines.
Folkstreams is a non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, and showcasing documentary films of America's traditional cultures
Videos by member countries of the IMF
5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
A video collection of first-person interviews with those involved in the birth and growth of the American television industry. Provided by the Television Academy Foundation. (Primary Source)
The Mike Wallace Interview ran from 1957 to 1960, but the Ransom Center collection includes interviews from only 1957 and 1958. (Primary Source)
Is an organization involved in the research, acquisition, preservation and publication of educational materials related to the early silent motion picture era, with a specific focus on the Thanhouser film enterprise.
VIEW clips from 1,632,000 shows since 2009. Part of the Internet Archive.
Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum
Explore over 3,800 videos in 13 subject areas
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
PBS LearningMedia provides PreK-12 educators with access to free digital content and professional development opportunities designed to improve teacher effectiveness and student achievement.
25 Best Sites for Free Educational Videos
Explore the largest natural world Encyclopedia Online
From the U.S. Department of Energy
Now in its fourth decade of production, the series remains committed to producing in-depth science programming in the form of one-hour documentaries and long-form mini-series, from the latest breakthroughs in technology to the deepest mysteries of the natural world.
The Stanford Health Video Library programs feature prominent doctors presenting the latest health research.
Educational videos by subject.
Spalding University Home