Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary 19th Edition the ultimate health professions resource for the 21st Century! Patient Care, Symptoms, Etiology, Treatments and Caution statements... much More than definitions alone! Powerful New features * 56,000 terms-over 20,000 more definitions than the competition! * More than 2,200 New terms added to this edition! * Thoroughly revised in easy-to-understand language * Expanded coverage of Complementary and Alternative Medicine throughout * Expanded Nutrition Appendix * New comprehensive Nursing Appendix featuring the indispensable Nursing Diagnoses Appendices, and more!
Design and Analysis of Clinical Nursing Research Studies by
This invaluable text on the design and analysis of clinical research studies explains the basis of experimental design and statistics in a way that is sensitive to the clinical context in which nurses work. It uses data from actual studies to illustrate how to: *design the study *use and select data *present research findings *use a computer for statistical analysis. The scope of the study designs and associated statistical techniques covered in the book allow both the beginning nurse researcher and the more seasoned professional nurse investigator to approach a research study with confidence and optimism. The authors show how qualitative data can be approached quantitatively, what the advantages of this are from the nursing viewpoint, and how quantitative methodology can help nurses to develop a common research language with other disciplines involved in patient care.
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
Unlike more expensive, weighty textbooks on the theories, Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence Based Practice: Models and Guidelines provides practical guidelines on the model with exemplars, a question development tool, evidence rating scale, project management, appraisal forms, and evidence summary documents, this book helps nurses not only understand the theory, but also put it into action. The new edition includes expanded and improved tools and forms including additional guidelines for individual appraisals, and both research and non-research-based evidence. Authors will improve the strength and quality of the section on systematic reviews. It is both a textbook for students and a handbook for nurses in practice. Faculty members and staff development instructors can download a PDF of a free, 26-page instructors guide to use as a resource in teaching the JHNEBP Model. The instructors guide includes examples of course objectives, how to set up an EBP project for students, and educational strategies for health care organizations. The guide addresses both graduate and undergraduate education.
Quantitative Nursing Research by
This major textbook guides the reader through the basic definitions, fundamentals of design, and techniques of quantitative research. After an initial discussion on the nature of quantitative nursing research, the author explores research questions, hypotheses, causality, generalizability, and randomization. He then considers ethical issues in nursing research. After examining research designs, techniques for data gathering and analysis, and specialized techniques in quantitative research, the author proceeds to discuss the measurement of change, strategies for coping with missing data problems, and the dissemination of research results. Numerous examples, guides for further reading, and exercises to help the reader navigate the research literature are particular features of this textbook.
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses by
This book should provide graduate nursing students with the knowledge to evaluate research evidence and use it in practice. With the increasing focus on EBP, this book should serve as a useful resource." Score: 100, 5 stars. --Doody's This book would be useful for both graduate nursing students and practicing nurses."--Doody's Medical Reviews The second edition of this award-winning reference on formulating, achieving, and sustaining evidence-based practice (EBP) through clinical research updates all prior content and includes two new chapters on establishing and sustaining an evidence-based practice and environment, and how a research question drives the selection of research design, measurement, and analysis. Also featured are cutting-edge discussions of translational science and interprofessional research plus the contributions of several new authors. Designed for use by graduate students, clinical administrators, and managers and in DNP programs and in-service education, the text offers practical methods to translate evidence into practice by effectively using and appraising clinical studies. It presents research concepts in a clear, conversational tone and addresses the most current knowledge about how nurses can learn to formulate and achieve EBP as clinicians. From a single study to a meta-analysis, EBP concepts related to patient care are integrated throughout. Clinically relevant examples present ways students and staff can apply knowledge to daily clinical practice through the development, implementation, and evaluation of clinical protocols. Text boxes and web references reinforce information. Taken together, the content of the Second Edition will help the nursing profession in its move toward the forefront of institutional management, research, policy decisions, and ethical considerations all to enhance safe patient care and health. The book also includes interactive PDF with fill-in, reusable templates, and is available in enhanced eBook format that includes audio/video Q & A. New to the Second Edition: Presents new content on translational science and inter-professional research. Updates all content from the first edition. Includes two new chapters on establishing and sustaining EBT and how a research question drives the selection of a research design, measurement and analysis. Presents the contributions of several new authors. Features psychosocial and physical data collection and analysis methods. Includes guidelines on evaluating research articles, including ethical components. Suggests strategies for establishing and sustaining an organizational evidence-based practice. Presents primary ways of evaluating cost as a dimension of evidence-based practice. Offers appendices with evidence-based practice activities and protocols, and a resource list of relevant websites. Features interactive PDF with fill-in, reusable templates. Available as enhanced eBook that includes audio/video Q & A "
Spalding University Home