It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature & Creative Writing: Recommended Resources
Academic OneFile (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available. See title lists below for up-to-date publication information.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary collection of videos that cover art & design, diversity, health sciences, history, literature, language, music, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, engineering, and social sciences.
Biography (Gale In Context)This link opens in a new windowBiography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Book Review Index (Gale Literature)This link opens in a new windowBook Review Index Plus includes more than 5 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more. This unique product is OpenURL compliant, which allows subscribers to link to full-text reviews from other sources.The benchmark reference for reviews of every kind, the original print edition of Book Review Index provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.
Britannica Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowThe rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one resource. Note you do have to register with your Spalding e-mail address for full access.
Digital Commons NetworkThis link opens in a new windowThe Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowEBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that your library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription.
Encyclopedia BritannicaThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowThe Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, providing users with abstracts for all of these topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
General OneFile (Gale)This link opens in a new windowGeneral OneFile is Gale's largest general-interest database, serving as the public library's ultimate periodical resource, with more than 8,000 titles (most in full text with no embargo), many of which are recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. We've included the reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
Humanities International IndexThis link opens in a new windowHumanities International Index contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international publications. This includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Scholarly resources on JSTOR include Archival and Current Journals, Books, and Primary Sources.
Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowLiterature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
LitFinderThis link opens in a new windowLitFinder is international in scope, covers all time periods, and contains literature content, including more than 140,000 full-text poems, 840,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays published in the 16th-20th centuries, 2,400 full-text speeches, and 1,250 full-text plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Within LitFinder 's collection, patrons have access to works from over 80,000 authors from 660 nationalities. LitFinder 's easy-to-use search paths allow users to easily target the information they are looking for or to browse the database through various refine search and results limiter options.
For example, users can find everything from the sonnets of Shakespeare to the poetry of Maya Angelou, the love poetry of the 13th century to contemporary poems by African American women, the inaugural speeches of George Washington through George W. Bush, short stories by Edgar Allan Poe to stories by up-and-coming writer Elizabeth Weld, or essays on such subjects as the arts, science, and religion. Person search quickly retrieves a particular writer or identifies authors linked by such qualities as gender, nationality, century, and genre. A works search provides similar limiters and the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and movements. Basic and advanced search modes allow users to search by keyword, author, subject, work title, work date, nationality, gender, century, and more.
MasterFILE PremierThis link opens in a new windowMasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals.
MLA Directory of PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and contains information for the journals and series that are available in the MLA International Bibliography database. Subject areas include literature, folklore, and language. Other topics covered include literary theory and criticism, film and other dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing.
MLA International Bibliography with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSubjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
NovelistThis link opens in a new windowNoveList a comprehensive readers’ advisory resource. Special attention for K-12 literature.
Poetry and Short Story Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowThis full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques — including contemporary content from the finest publishers.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowPop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
PQDT Open AccessThis link opens in a new windowThe authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. Open Access Publishing is a new service offered by ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Publishing.
Raptor LitThis link opens in a new windowSpalding University Student led publication which accepts all types of literary works.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowVocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.