Spalding University Library: Psychology: Recommended Resources

Recommended Psychology Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available. See title lists below for up-to-date publication information.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of videos that cover art & design, diversity, health sciences, history, literature, language, music, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, engineering, and social sciences.
Career and Technical Education - ProQuest This link opens in a new window Part of Learning Express Library
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books that your library has either purchased with a perpetual license or via an annual subscription.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Study topics ranging from family practice, social work, and family services to sociology of the family and society studies in this database.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, providing users with abstracts for all of these topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile), is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window Comprehensive bibliographic database abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Health and Wellness, Gale's comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Ideal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac, its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 22 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window Database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
PQDT Open Access This link opens in a new window The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. Open Access Publishing is a new service offered by ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Publishing.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES®, the database of full text peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window This comprehensive resource is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Psychotherapy.net Collection This link opens in a new window More than 150 in-depth training videos provide step-by-step instructions for successfully implementing dozens of therapeutic approaches. Key topics include family and group therapy, dynamic psychotherapy, legal and ethical considerations, working with survivors of abuse, PTSD, and countless more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, APA's PsycINFO is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS® database is an extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Sage Journals Online provides access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences from Sage Publications. Our subscription contains: Research Methods Subject Collection, Orthopaedics & Sports Subject Collection, Mental Health Subject Collection, and the Health Practice & Services Subject Collection.
Statista This link opens in a new window This data aggregation and research platform contains statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Hosting one of the world's most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities, Wiley Online Library delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Featuring a clean and easy-to-use interface, this online service provides intuitive navigation, enhanced discoverability, expanded functionalities and a range of personalization and alerting options.

Frequently Asked Questions:

What information do I need for an ILL Request of scales and/or test from PsycTESTS?

No-cost Psychology resources (OER)

Textbooks

Spielman, R. M., Jenkins, W. J., & Lovett, M. D. (2020). Psychology 2e. OpenStax.

Hasty, J., Lewis, D. G., & Snipes, M. M. (2022). Introduction to Anthropology. OpenStax.

Conerly, T. R., Holmes, K., & Tamang, A. L. (2021). Introduction to Sociology, 3e. OpenStax.

Human Development. (2021). Portland State University Library.

Bridley, A. & Daffin, L. W. (2018). Abnormal Psychology. Washington State University.

Allen. C. (2020). The Balance of Personality. Portland State University Library.

Berardi, A. A. & Morton, B. M. (2019). Trauma-Informed School Practices: Building Expertise To Transform Schools. George Fox University Library.

Paris, J., Ricardo, A., Rymond, D., & Johnson, A. (2019). Child Growth and Development. College of the Canyons.

Jason, L. A., Glantsman, O., & O'Brien, J. F. (2019). Introduction to Community Psychology. Rebus Community.

Principles of Social Psychology. (2015). University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.