Spalding University Library: MKT 240: Principles of Marketing: Student Marketing Audit

Find Marketing Information

Market and Industry Reports and Statistics

Business Insights This link opens in a new window This first-of-its kind online resource was designed specifically to address the needs of a new global business generation. Gale Business Insights: Global provides students and researchers with the broad yet detailed coverage of international business they need to develop into savvy professionals that can compete and succeed working across the countries and cultures of the world. Gale Business Insights: Global is the most convenient and comprehensive way to access timely case studies, full-text articles, and robust data sets coupled with authoritative references and tools for analysis. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research. Deep business intelligence powered by statistical data lets researchers spend less time searching and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications.
Statista This link opens in a new window This data aggregation and research platform contains statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.

Business News and Articles

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business research database features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This robust database provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Whether searching for information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, or political participation, Regional Business News will cover the story.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window Small Business Reference Center offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.

Government Information

Explore Census Data
Replacing American FactFinder, Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
EDGAR
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.
U.S. Census Bureau Economic Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau Retail Trade

Using Library Databases in MKT 240

Student Marketing Audit

The student marketing audit (SMA) is a report of the current marketing strategies in place in an organization, as well as the relevant variables influencing those decisions. This type of audit would be used by product/brand managers or marketing managers within an organization.

In order to complete your student marketing audit, you will need to use secondary sources from databases such as Statista and Business Insights to thoroughly investigate your market topic. This will require using a variety of information sources packaged in different formats, including:

Articles (trade & news)
Company websites and reports
Consumer demographics and analysis
Industry and market reports

You will need to access these sources using a variety of tools and platforms (not just Google), and synthesize information found across them to address your research questions.

This guide will provide resources and suggestions for complete the SMA assignment for MKT 240. If you are having trouble finding references for your company, topic, or factors, schedule a one-on-one appointment with the librarian.

Company Reports

You can usually find company information and annual reports published for investors on the corporation's sites.
On a company's site, look the fine print links on the bottom of the page or sitemap for links to:

Annual Report
Corporate
History
Investor Relations
Suppliers

For example, this 2016 Annual Report for Target can be found on their investors page, as well as their 10k SEC filings.

When looking at company information, consider their bias and how a company may want to present themselves to the public and investors.

An SEC filing is a financial statement or other formal document submitted to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Public companies, certain insiders, and broker-dealers are required to make regular SEC filings and are publicly available.

EDGAR, is the SEC public search interface. You can search for companies by title or file number, and limit by state, country, or standard industry classification codes.