MSAT-620: Health Science Research Designs and Statistical Methods
In this course the student will develop the skills needed to develop an athletic training practice-based research proposal including literature review, protocol design, data collection, statistical analysis, and presentation.
SPSS for Applied Sciences by Cole DavisThis book offers a quick and basic guide to using SPSS and provides a general approach to solving problems using statistical tests. It is both comprehensive in terms of the tests covered and the applied settings it refers to, yet is short and easy to understand. Whether you are a beginner or an intermediate level test user, this book will help you to analyze different types of data in applied settings. It will also give you the confidence to use other statistical software and to extend your expertise to more specific scientific settings as required. The author does not use mathematical formulae and leaves out arcane statistical concepts. Instead, he provides a very practical, easy and speedy introduction to data analysis, offering examples from a range of scenarios from applied science, handling both continuous and rough-hewn data sets. Examples are given from agriculture, arboriculture, audiology, biology, computer science, ecology, engineering, epidemiology, farming and farm management, hydrology, medicine, ophthalmology, pharmacology, physiotherapy, spectroscopy and sports science. Key Features: * Written for beginners or intermediate users * Provides an easily read basic guide to SPSS with no mathematical formulae * Progresses logically, with clear explanations * Includes useful tests, each accompanied by a worked example, with relevance to a range of interests
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-09-11
Using SPSS for the Macintosh and Windows by Samuel B. Green; Neil J. SalkindFor courses in Introductory Statistics and Research Methods in the department of Psychology. This text for statistics and research method courses is designed to help students learn the basics of SPSS and how to use SPSS to analyze their data, interpret their results, and describe their findings following APA guidelines. It supplies extensive data sets and models to conduct analyses and interpret findings. - NEW - Appropriate for both Windows and Macintosh users - Gives students more options for use. - NEW - More accessible - Revised to train the novice - Allows students new to statistical methods to grasp concepts easily. - NEW - Newest SPSS interface - Uses Data View and Variable View windows for entering and summarizing data - Enables students to utilize the latest in software innovation. - NEW - Updated - Revised extensively to address changes in the APA Style Manual - Gives students the most up-to-date information available. - Comprehensive treatment of all relevant topics - Enables students to easily grasp concepts. Saves instructors valuable class time. - 17 lessons in 4 units in Part I - Step-by-step descriptions of the most basic SPSS techniques - Facilitates students grasp
Call Number: 300.285 G798 2003
Publication Date: 2002-07-26
Practical Statistics by David KremelbergClick on the Supplements tab above for further details on the different versions of SPSS programs. Making statistics--and statistical software--accessible and rewarding This book provides readers with step-by-step guidance on running a wide variety of statistical analyses in IBM® SPSS® Statistics, Stata, and other programs. Author David Kremelberg begins his user-friendly text by covering charts and graphs through regression, time-series analysis, and factor analysis. He provides a background of the method, then explains how to run these tests in IBM SPSS and Stata. He then progresses to more advanced kinds of statistics such as HLM and SEM, where he describes the tests and explains how to run these tests in their appropriate software including HLM and AMOS. This is an invaluable guide for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students across the social and behavioral sciences who need assistance in understanding the various statistical packages.
Call Number: HA 32 .K74 2011
Publication Date: 2010-03-18
SPSS Survival Manual by Julie PallantThis manual demystifies statistics and data analysis by guiding the reader through the entire research process. It helps in the process of choosing the right statistical technique and includes a detailed guide to interpreting SPSS ouput.