Spalding University Library: MSAT-620: Health Science Research Designs and Statistical Methods: Getting Started

Recommended Resources

Athletic Training

Athletic Training Education Journal The Athletic Training Education Journal is a peer-reviewed open access journal published by the National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA).
Journal of Athletic Training The Journal of Athletic Training is a peer-reviewed open source journal published by the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA). NATA is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. CINAHL Complete is compatible with EBSCO’s point-of-care resources including Nursing Reference Center (NRC) and others.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window Rehabilitation Reference Center is updated weekly with the most current information available about speech, physical and occupational therapy. Content is created using a strict evidence-based methodology and protocol focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of practice-changing information.

More Library Databases

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Health and Wellness, Gale's comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window With full-text access to nearly 100 journals, Nursing & Allied Health Collection, is an asset to medical researchers, medical assistants and nursing students.

Open Access Journals

BioMed Central Database contains over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine. Also searchable via PubMed.
BioOne Complete BioOne Complete is BioOne's database of 207 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Instruments & Tests

Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window Database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS® database is an extensive collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.

The Spalding University Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of the University Library in the PNC Center for Student Success.

Hours: 8 am-6 pm Monday-Friday

Consultations are usually 45 minutes. Please bring your assignment sheet and any other supporting materials.

Our goal is to help you in the writing process; we usually focus on two or three areas of revision opportunity in your work.

You can schedule an appointment by calling us at (502) 873-4494 or by emailing us at [email protected].

You can also submit your work for online feedback via the link below: