Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spalding University Library Logo

EDD-901: Leadership Theory & Academic Writing

Exploring Library Resources

Follow the scenario and determine how you would go about accomplishing this task. You will present to the class your key findings. If you have questions, just ask! You can also refer to the Library’s website or Frequently Asked Questions.

Spalding Library: library.spalding.edu
FAQs: spalding.libanswers.com
EDD-901 LibGuide: https://library.spalding.edu/EDD901

Scenario 1: Library databases

EDD 901 requires you to write a literature review for which you will need to search for and access many academic sources. 

Spalding University subscribes to ~140 databases in total, and only a select number of these databases will be relevant to your research. How do you determine which databases to use?

  • Browse Databases A-Z on the Library’s homepage. How can you search for and limit databases?
  • Take some time to review the descriptions of relevant databases. You may also enter the databases and try some searches. 
  • How can you search multiple databases at one time? 
  • Choose a handful of databases that look most useful or relevant to your research interests and share them with the group. 
  • Journals by Title (under Tools) allows you to search for specific journals. How can you use this tool to find relevant databases? 

Scenario 2: Advanced Search Strategies

You have a full life outside of your academic career. When you sit down to look at literature
for your research project, you want to make the most of your time.

  • How can you search in multiple library databases at once?
  • What search tools and limiters can you use to search strategically?
  • How can strategic use of search terms lend to a more efficient query?
  • How can you narrow your search results to a specific research methodology?

Scenario 3: Accessing materials outside of Spalding’s collections

You found the perfect article for your research project in EBSCO Academic Search Complete, but it seems like you are not able to access the full-text.

  • How could you go about finding the full-text version of this article at no cost, even if it's not available at Spalding?

In addition to journal articles and other media, you want to find a few relevant books on your research topic.

  • How can you search for print books and e-books in the Spalding Library?
  • Suppose you aren’t finding enough relevant books in the Spalding Library. Where do you look for books from other institutions, and how do you access them? Can you also access online journal articles from other institutions? How?
  • Explain the ILL request process and timeline for receiving materials. 

Scenario 4: Managing citations

You've found a lot of great sources for your research project, but you’re finding it difficult to keep track of all of the PDFs, links, and citation information. The EDD 901 LibGuide provides a list of free citation management software, like Zotero and Mendeley, under the Citing Information tab.

Look into the different options and tell us about a program that you would be most likely to use for organizing your research. 

  • What aspects of the program do you find most helpful?
  • How might you use some of the available elements of a program in your own work to organize and annotate sources?
  • If you’re not enthusiastic about using a program like Zotero, what are some other worthwhile methods for keeping track of your citations and sources? 

Scenario 5: Copyright basics

As a graduate student in the EDD program, you will be encouraged to publish your writing and scholarship, and it’s helpful to know from the start how to integrate outside sources responsibly so that you don’t have to go back and fix copyright issues at the 11th hour before submission or publication. 

  • Define: copyright, copyright infringement, plagiarism, fair use, open access, public domain
  • When do you need to seek permission to use copyrighted material?

This is an expansive set of concepts that takes time to learn. Check out these guides for reference: 

 

Instruction feedback

Please take a moment to share your feedback about library instruction for this course. 

You can fill out a quick survey via this link: https://acrl.projectoutcome.org/responses/40562

Your response is very much appreciated!