Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spalding University Library and Academic Commons Logo

OT 701: Research Application in Practice

This Libguide is created to help students complete HS550's Research Scavenger Hunt Assignment.

Library tour and training

Read the scenario and determine how you would go about accomplishing this task at hand. You will present to the class your key findings. If you have questions, just ask! You can also refer to the Library’s website or Frequently Asked Questions.

Spalding Library: library.spalding.edu (The Start Your Research guide has lots of info on searching & databases!)
FAQs: spalding.libanswers.com
OT 701 LibGuide: https://library.spalding.edu/OT701

Scenario 1: Library databases

OT coursework will require you to write a literature review for which you will need to search for and access many academic sources on a specific topic. 

Spalding University subscribes to 130 databases in total, and only a select number of these databases will be relevant to your research. How do you determine which databases to use?

  • Browse Databases A-Z on the Library’s homepage. How can you search for and limit databases?

  • Take some time to review the descriptions of relevant databases. You may also enter the databases and try some searches. 

  • How can you search multiple databases at one time? 

  • What if you want to search by journal or publication, rather than by database? Use the Journals by Title tool (from the homepage) to try a search. 

Scenario 2: Advanced Search Strategies

You have a full life outside of your academic career. When you sit down to look at literature for your research project, you want to make the most of your time.

  • What search tools and limiters can you use to search strategically?

  • How can strategic use of search terms lend to a more efficient query?

  • How can you narrow your search results to a specific research methodology?

Scenario 3: Accessing materials outside of Spalding’s collections

You found the perfect article for your research project in EBSCO Academic Search Complete, but it seems like you are not able to access the full-text.

  • How could you go about finding the full-text version of this article at no cost, even if it's not available at Spalding?

In addition to journal articles and other media, you want to find a few relevant books on your research topic.

  • How can you search for print books and e-books in the Spalding Library?

  • Suppose you aren’t finding enough relevant books in the Spalding Library. Where do you look for books from other institutions, and how do you access them? Can you also access online journal articles from other institutions? How?

  • Explain the ILL request process and timeline for receiving materials. 

Scenario 4: Managing citations

You have found a lot of great sources for your research project, but you’re finding it difficult to keep track of all of the PDFs, links, and citation information. The OT 701 LibGuide (see link above) provides a list of free citation management software, like Zotero and Mendeley, under the Citing Sources tab.

  • Look into the different options and tell us about a program that you would be most likely to use for organizing your research. 

  • What aspects of the program do you find most helpful?

  • How might you use some of the available elements of a program in your own work to organize and annotate sources?

  • If you’re not so sure about using a program like Zotero, what are some other worthwhile methods for keeping track of your citations and sources?

Scenario 5: Using specific OT databases

You are working on a case study for a course, and you need information on evidence-based assessments and interventions. Access the following resources from Databases A-Z. 

Explore Rehabilitation Reference Center, a key resource for OT research. This database will provide useful information for assigned diagnostic modules, help with case studies for class, adaptive equipment, therapy coding, and 
evidence-based assessment intervention ideas.

  • Select the Diseases and Conditions tab and choose a disease or condition from the A-Z list. Take some time to browse the contents of the page.

  • What elements might be most useful for a case study?

Next, take a look at ICE Learning Center Videos. This collection of streaming videos feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas. 

  • Browse the ICE Video Library and the StrokeHelp series.

  • Find at least one video that demonstrates an actual therapy for a specific population.

 

Library instruction feedback

Please take a moment to share your feedback about library instruction for this course. 

You can fill out a quick survey via this link: https://acrl.projectoutcome.org/responses/40778

Your response is very much appreciated!