An EBP Literature Review requires a systematic search of all existing sources of knowledge on your topic.
You will be expected to search in multiple library databases and resources. Save time by selecting library database collections from the full list of EBSCO or GALE databases to search simultaneously. Consider the subjects or academic disciplines related to your topic and choose library collections accordingly.
Most databases contain basic information and abstracts for all journal listings, even if our library does not have access to the full-text. For this program, we do not advise that you limit your search to only what the Spalding University Library has in full-text. Instead, take advantage of our Interlibrary Loan and Metroversity programs to access required materials.
Open Source Journals
Instruments & Tests
In library databases such as CINAHL and Medline, the advanced search options and limiters allow you to narrow your search with various criteria. This can help you identify different levels of evidence according to the source type.
Efficient Search Strings
Keyword searching is the first step to finding relevant articles on your topic. However, in order to conduct a more comprehensive and efficient search, there are several methods you can use to broaden and narrow your search.
Limit to Peer-Reviewed, Academic Journals
For this class your evidence should be from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. In most databases, you can limit your results by "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals" or "Academic Journals."
Advanced Search Options
Every database and collection is different, but the advanced search options are usually tailored to the discipline. For EBP Nursing, there may be options to search specifically for Evidence Based Practice, Randomized Controlled Trials, and other standard publication types.
In the advanced search feature in CINAHL, You can limit to research articles, meta-synthesis, Randomized Control Trials, geographic regions, age groups, and many relevant publication types for this assignment.
Each database and collection will have different pre-set advanced option features. Pay special attention to these sections to find relevant and useful tools in targeting your search.
Use Subject Headings
If you are looking for a standard method or tool, you can usually target your search by using the phrase as a subject heading. In the advanced search: