Spalding University Library: MSBC-655: Org Development and Change: Government Information

Demographics & Statistics

United States

Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Explore Census Data
Replacing American FactFinder, Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Federal Government Data and Statistics
Includes a list of federal agency programs that collect, analyze, and disseminate statistical data and information.
Kentucky Data Center
The Kentucky State Data Center (KSDC) is the state’s lead agency in the U.S. Census Bureau’s State Data Center Program and Kentucky’s official clearinghouse for Census data.
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
National Center for Health Statistics
Part of the CDC, NCHS provides statistical information on health care, vital statistics, health expenditures, and other related topics.

Statista This link opens in a new window
This data aggregation and research platform contains statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.

US Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA provides official macroeconomic and industry statistics, including reports about the US GDP and its various units—states, cities, counties and metropolitan areas. They also provide information about personal income, corporate profits, and government spending in their National Income and Product Accounts (NIPAs).
US Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
US Energy Information Administration
EIA provides a wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.
US Census Bureau
Provides data and publications from the decennial census of population and other Census Bureau programs.

International

CEPALSTAT Latin American and the Caribbean
CEPALSTAT is the gateway to all the UN statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC.
Eurostat Data & Statistics (in English)
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Most information is freely available.
International Labour Organization Statistics (ILOSTAT)
The ILO Department of Statistics is the focal point to the United Nations on labour statistics. We develop international standards for better measurement of labour issues and enhanced international comparability; provide relevant, timely and comparable labour statistics; and help Member States develop and improve their labour statistics.
Migration Policy Institute
Collection of migration statistics for many countries throughout the world. Includes data on net migration, asylum, citizenship, integration and other aspects of migration.
NationMaster
This site provides comparative national statistics on a variety of topics. In many cases, statistics can also be displayed as bar graphs, charts, or maps.
OECD.Stat
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Population Reference Bureau
Data on 133 variables related to population, health, and environment for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole.

Statista This link opens in a new window
This data aggregation and research platform contains statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.

UN Data
Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
As the official statistical agency of UNESCO, UIS is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication.
United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
UNFPA is the United Nations sexual and reproductive health agency. Provides individual country information about fertility, reproductive health, life expectancy, family planning and more.
World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank’s premier compilation of cross-country comparable data on development.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
World Health Organization Data
The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.

US Federal & Legal Sources

Congress.gov
Library of Congress web site that makes federal legislative information freely available to the public. Includes bill text and status, roll call votes, member information, and links to other information.
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report which overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.
GovInfo
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. It provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Ideal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac, its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

USA.gov
USA.gov is the official web portal of the United States federal government that links to every federal agency and to state, local, and tribal governments, and is the most comprehensive site in—and about—the U.S. government.