Skip to Main Content
Spalding University Library Logo

MSBC-611: Research Methods

This course will introduce students to qualitative and quantitative methods of research. In this course, students will examine foundational principles of research and will acquire some practical research skills. By becoming familiar with the research proc

Government Resources

The following government resources may be used to find current issues relating to your topic:

American FactFinder- Locate census data, create and customize tables and maps, and download data; provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society.

Business USA- A centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier than ever for businesses to access services to help them grow and hire.

Congress.gov- Library of Congress web site that makes federal legislative information freely available to the public. Includes bill text and status, roll call votes, member information, and links to other information.

Economic Report of the President - The Economic Report of the President is an annual report which overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.

FDIC- The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by the Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's financial system by insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and soundness and consumer protection, and managing receiverships.

Federal Reserve System: Economic Research & Data - Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance. 

FedStats.gov - FedStats.gov provides data that is collected by over 100 federal agencies and is searchable by geography, agency or subject. Data available at the site includes trade, education, health care, agriculture, aviation and energy. The site also has a link called "MapStats" that provides data (population, housing, labor force, retail sales, etc.) for states, congressional districts and federal judicial districts.

FRASER- Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history. FRASER can be used in conjunction with other Federal Reserve resources, including FRED, ALFRED, the Federal Reserve System Historical Gateway, and curriculum developed by economic education staff.

National Center for Health Statistics- Provides links to data, publications, and other information on health care, vital statistics, health expenditures, and other related topics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States- Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.  It is now a fee-based resource, yet last version (2012) is available online.

USA.gov - USA.gov is the official web portal for the U.S. government.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis -BEA produces economic accounts statistics.  BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies and disseminates statistics to the public.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics -The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. 

U.S. Federal Reserve Beige Book- This report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. 

U.S. Treasury Data- Get updates on Treasury bill rates, long-term rates, real long-term rates, yield curve rates and real yield-curve rates.

World Factbook (CIA)- Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries around the world.