Spalding University Library: MSBC-611: Research Methods: Finding Journal Articles

Open Source Journals

Some additional open source journal repositiories:

Directory of Open Access Journals is a directory of free, full text scientific and scholarly journal article database. Search by topic or keyword. Strong emphasis on science and technology subject.

Infomine is a database containing free or fee-based Internet resources such as electronic journals, electronic books, among others. Select the Advanced Search to limit to free resource access. The site was discontinued in late 2014.

Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE) : Management- The Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE) service covers free, full text, quality controlled journals. We aim to cover journals in all subjects that are published in English language. There are now 4,775 journals in the directory. All are searchable at article level.

Open Journal of Business and Management- An international journal dedicated to the latest advancement in the study of business and management.

Social Science Research Network abstracts and full papers both submitted by the authors and harvested from partner publishers' databases. Topics include Accounting, Economics, Information Systems, Legal Scholarship, Management, Marketing, Negotiation, and Social Insurance. Search by keyword or browse by topic. Some articles are pay-for-access.

Recommended Databases

EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. EBSCO Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news, the public library patron making personal investment decisions, or the high school student looking to major in business administration, Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art InfoTrac platform.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
This first-of-its kind online resource was designed specifically to address the needs of a new global business generation. Gale Business Insights: Global provides students and researchers with the broad yet detailed coverage of international business they need to develop into savvy professionals that can compete and succeed working across the countries and cultures of the world. Gale Business Insights: Global is the most convenient and comprehensive way to access timely case studies, full-text articles, and robust data sets coupled with authoritative references and tools for analysis. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research. Deep business intelligence powered by statistical data lets researchers spend less time searching and more time connecting their discoveries to practical applications.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business research database features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE provides a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments as well as what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
The Business Economics & Theory Collection offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Powered by InfoTrac, it includes more than 1,800 titles. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access to Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) gives business owners expertise on call 24 hours a day. Created by subject experts and a librarian advisory board, it covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Ideal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTrac, its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This robust database provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Whether searching for information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, or political participation, Regional Business News will cover the story.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Small Business Reference Center offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.
Statista This link opens in a new window
This data aggregation and research platform contains statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. All statistics can be directly downloaded in PNG/PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint formats.