Skip to main content
Spalding University Library and Academic Commons Logo

NURS-804: Theory Foundations for Health Care Improvement

This course provides students with the theoretical basis for the development, improvement and evaluation of healthcare practice and programs. Focus is on specific models and theories that guide healthcare professionals in practice improvement, quality car

RSS Feeds

Loading ...

Government Resources

The following government resources may be used to find current issues relating to your topic:

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - National Guideline Clearinghouse- NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Census Bureau- Provides data and publications from the decennial census of population and other Census Bureau programs.

National Center for Health StatisticsProvides links to data, publications, and other information on health care, vital statistics, health expenditures, and other related topics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States- Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.  It is now a fee-based resource, yet last version (2012) is available online.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention- Information on this site can be useful for professionals and the general public. Highlights of the site include a link to “faststats” health related statistics organized by state or major illness. The A-Z index lists more than 500 health related topics and diseases or visitors can easily search the entire site by using their searchbox.

Combined Health Information Database (CHID)- CHID is a bibliographic database produced by Federal health-related agencies. It provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for health information and health education resources. 12 major topical areas are covered, each of which can be searched separately. Updated quarterly.

Health (United States) -Core reference source for government-compiled health statistics. Provides trend tables that are updated as new data becomes available.
 
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report- Contains statistics on selected diseases reported to the Center for Disease Control by state health departments.

National Network of Libraries of Medicine- The NNLM has gathered an excellent and varied selection of links for nursing professionals.

The United States Department of Health and Human Services- Their site contains extensive links to reference material such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, reports, online publications.

State Health Facts Online- This site from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.

Medline Plus- This site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, contains a wealth of information including news, tutorials, a dictionary,a medical encyclopedia, surgery videos, and links to additional “resources that provide online health information.”

Census Bureau