Skip to main content
Spalding University Library and Academic Commons Logo

NURS-804: Theory Foundations for Health Care Improvement

This course provides students with the theoretical basis for the development, improvement and evaluation of healthcare practice and programs. Focus is on specific models and theories that guide healthcare professionals in practice improvement, quality car

Open Source Journals

Google Scholar Search

Some additional open source journal repositiories:

ABC-Chemistry Online chemistry journals available either in full or in a trial. Separate lists for educational and Russian journals.

BioMed Central Database contains over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine. Also searchable via PubMed.

BioOne Online Journals is an eJournal published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences containing bioscience research journals, featuring topics such as global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.

Directory of Open Access Journals is a directory of free, full text scientific and scholarly journal article database.  Search by topic or keyword. Strong emphasis on science and technology subject.

Free Medical Journals- A website that offers a directory of online journals freely available on the web. Journals are organized by both title and specialty.

The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing- A free peer-reviewed online journal published jointly by The American Nurses Association and the Kent State University College of Nursing. “It presents different perspectives on topics that affect nursing practice, research, and education, thus enabling readers to understand the full complexity of a particular topic.”

PubMed is a database comprised of more than 19 million full text life science journals. 

 

 
 

Recommended Databases

Sample Author Search in Google Scholar

This is a search for the author, E.M. Rogers and the study of diffusions of innovations. Search for your author by first initial and last name. Note the number of times the article is cited. If the article is available full-text, there will be a URL to the right of the citation.  NOTE: some URLs revert readers to a page requiring a fee to view the full text article. Try searching the Spalding library databases to see if the full-text article may be available via our institution. 

Google Scholar screenshot of E.M. Roger's search

Accessing Healthcare and Medical Databases