NURS-804: Theory Foundations for Health Care Improvement
This course provides students with the theoretical basis for the development, improvement and evaluation of healthcare practice and programs. Focus is on specific models and theories that guide healthcare professionals in practice improvement, quality car
DNP Education, Practice, and Policy by Stephanie AhmedNamed a 2013 Doody's Core Title "This is an excellent book for both students and current DNPs. The primary areas it addresses--leadership, healthcare policy, and information technology---are essential for the advanced practice nurse to function as a change agent in today's healthcare environment. The book challenges DNPs to engage in clinical practice to the full scope of their capabilities."--Score: 100, 5 Stars. Doody's Medical Reviews This is the only professional issues-oriented Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) text to fully integrate all eight American Association of Colleges of Nursing DNP competencies into one volume. It defines practice scholarship for the DNP role and facilitates the sound development of key leadership skills that enable DNP graduates to effectively influence politics and health care policy in order to improve patient and population health care outcomes. The text focuses on the educational requirements of DNPs engaged in the arenas of leadership, health care policy, and information technology. It covers the growth and development of the DNP role, particularly in the context of contemporary health care challenges. With a focus on the Capstone Project, the text addresses the relationship of the DNP role to ongoing scholarship. It covers three important essentials of the DNP curriculumoevidence-based practice, health information technology, and outcomes measurementoand how they can be used to transform health care in the 21st century. The textis challenging and thought-provoking content is of particular value not only to students, but also to professors who will welcome the clarity it offers to the highly complex DNP curriculum.Key Features: Simplifies the highly complex DNP curriculum and integrates DNP core competencies throughoutDemonstrates the application of core competencies to practice and aggregate careProvides a well-organized supplement to all courses across the DNP curriculumUses exemplars of students and practicing DNPs to illustrate effective implementationOffers concrete guidance for achieving a thorough understanding of how DNP graduates utilize core competencies"
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Introduction to Nursing Research by Carol Boswell; Sharon CannonIntroduction to Nursing Research illustrates to students how they can incorporate research into their daily practice and how research relates to hospital policies and procedures. The book alerts the reader to focus on potential weak areas within the dissemination of the research project. Each chapter provides numerous clinical examples demonstrating the evidence-based application.
Publication Date: 2007-01-30
The Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by Sandra M. NettinaIn addition to comprehensive coverage of the four areas of nursing: medical/surgical, maternal/newborn, pediatrics, and psychiatric/mental health, the Seventh Edition of this classic reference book features a variety of useful updates. New to this edition is an appendix of vitamins and herbs, necessary for dealing with patients who treat themselves with popular dietary supplements. Also unique to this edition are an increased emphasis on home care, drug alerts, standards of care, and additional patient teaching information that includes complementary therapies. Popular features, including procedure guidelines, nursing alerts, and gerontologic alerts have been expanded.
Publication Date: 2000-11-10
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses by Magdalena A. Mateo; Karin T. KirchhoffDesignated a Doody's Core Title "This book should provide graduate nursing students with the knowledge to evaluate research evidence and use it in practice. With the increasing focus on EBP, this book should serve as a useful resource." Score: 100, 5 stars --"Doody's" Achieve competency in evidence-based practice now This book provides practical ways for nurses to develop competency in evidence-based practice (EBP) by effectively using and appraising clinical studies. In this single, introductory volume, Mateo and Kirchoff present everything that advanced practice nurses and graduate students need to know to translate clinical research into practice. With this book, readers will learn the essential methods that are used to achieve EBP, such as how to find and evaluate research articles, design questionnaires and data collection forms, analyze quantitative data, and much more. Key features: Includes guidelines on how to evaluate the strengths and failures of research articles Presents data collection methods for physiological and psychosocial dataExplains how to evaluate the ethical aspects of a studyProvides guidelines on how to present and publish research findingsContains appendices with examples of evidence-based practice activities and protocols as well as a resource list of relevant websites By knowing how to appraise the available evidence and its implications for clinical care, readers will learn to seamlessly translate evidence into practice.
In order for people to find information, it must be organized in a useful way. The difficulty organizing information is due to the fact that organizing (e.g., cataloging) is a subjective act. A librarian or indexer must determine what the book, CDROM, etc is about and then anticipate all the ways people might search for that resource. Library of Congress designed a classification system to:
organize books by subject on library shelves
provide a subject heading system to describe what the library material is about.
Search the Spalding University Library Catalog by Subject using these terms for more focused searching: