Spalding University Library: African American Studies: Recommended Resources

Recommended African American Studies Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly. Gale's InterLink technology intelligently connects contextually-relevant results from your library's eBook collection on GVRL within articles in a user's search results. The Topic Finder tool adds power and depth to searches, allowing students to mine their search results and develop their research focus in ways never before available. See title lists below for up-to-date publication information.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of videos that cover art & design, diversity, health sciences, history, literature, language, music, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, engineering, and social sciences.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Study topics ranging from family practice, social work, and family services to sociology of the family and society studies in this database.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations. Global Issues in Context focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. It also includes detailed information on nations to provide a foundation for cross-cultural studies and, International periodicals and news sources that bring additional insight and currency.
Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820) This link opens in a new window The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837) This link opens in a new window The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852) This link opens in a new window The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865) This link opens in a new window The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912) This link opens in a new window The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window Humanities International Index contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international publications. This includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Scholarly resources on JSTOR include Archival and Current Journals, Books, and Primary Sources.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broard collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus. Enjoy!
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window This full-text database offers a trusted source of sociology literature, making it an essential tool for sociology and social work researchers, professionals and students. Sociological Collection covers a broad range of subjects relevant to sociology and its related disciplines.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Hosting one of the world's most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities, Wiley Online Library delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Featuring a clean and easy-to-use interface, this online service provides intuitive navigation, enhanced discoverability, expanded functionalities and a range of personalization and alerting options.

How Do I Find...

Graduate Research

No-cost resources for African American Studies (OER)

Textbooks
Journals

Farrington, J., Powell N. W., Graham, G., Day, L., & Anyanwu, O. E., eds. (2019). Slavery to Liberation: The African American Experience. Eastern Kentucky University.